Brackley, United Kingdom, Mar 10, 2010

The Laureus World Sports Awards ceremony took place today at the stunning Emirates Palace hotel in Abu Dhabi. Reigning Formula One Constructors’ World Champions Brawn GP (now MERCEDES GP PETRONAS) won the Laureus Team of the Year Award, and former Brawn GP driver Jenson Button, the reigning Formula One World Champion, won in the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year category.

During the three-day period leading up to the Awards ceremony, Mercedes-Benz DTM drivers Susie Stoddart and Bruno Spengler have been taking specially invited visitors on ‘taxi rides’ around the new Abu Dhabi GP circuit in two Mercedes-Benz DTM racing cars. Their illustrious passengers included the German film star Mario Adorf and his wife, England football manager Fabio Capello, world champion surfer Robby Naish, TV presenter Sabine Christiansen and multiple tennis Grand Slam winner Arantxa Sanchez Vicario.

Amongst the guests at the Laureus Awards ceremony were motorcycling legend Giacomo Agostini, Olympic and World Championship winning pole-vaulter Sergey Bubka, former Formula One world champions Emerson Fittipaldi and Mika Häkkinen, Wimbledon ace Boris Becker, former world champion boxer Henry Maske and ex-McLaren Mercedes Formula One driver David Coulthard.

Nick Fry, Chief Executive Officer at MERCEDES GP PETRONAS, attended the event at the Emirates Palace this evening and collected the Team of Year Award on behalf of the former Brawn GP team.

The Laureus World Sports Awards, which have been handed out annually since 2000, rank amongst the most prestigious sporting accolades in the world. A Laureus has the cachet of a sports Oscar.

Amongst the former winners are Michael Schumacher (now driving for MERCEDES GP PETRONAS), Vodafone McLaren Mercedes star Lewis Hamilton, football colossus Franz Beckenbauer, boxing world champion Vitaly Klitschko, tennis ace Roger Federer, Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong and golf pro Tiger Woods.

* Official info courtesy of MERCEDES GP PETRONAS *

Copyright © 2010, Mercedes-Benz-Blog. All rights reserved.